The BBC National Short Story Award

Comma Press are the proud publishers of the annual BBC National Short Story Award anthology. Although this is our seventh year publishing the collection, the award has been going on since 2006, and has seen an impressive list of winners and runner-ups:

2015  Jonathan Buckley - 'Briar ; runner-up Mark Haddon - 'Bunny'.

2014 Lionel Shriver - 'Kilifi Creek'; runner-up Zadie Smith - 'Miss Adele Amidst the Corsets'.

2013 Sarah Hall - 'Mrs Fox'; runner-up Lucy Wood - 'Notes from the House Spirits'.

2012 Miroslav Penkov - 'East of the West'; runner-up Henrietta Rose-Innes - 'Sanctuary'.

2011 D W Wilson - 'The Dead Roads'; runner-up Jon McGregor - 'Wires'.

2010 David Constantine - 'Tea at the Midland'; runner-up Jon McGregor - 'If It Keeps On Raining'.

2009 Kate Clanchy - 'The Not-Dead and the Saved'; runner-up Sara Maitland - 'Moss Witch'.

2008 Clare Wigfall - 'The Numbers'; runner-up Jane Gardam - 'The People on Privilege Hill'.

2007 Julian Gough - 'The Orphan and the Mob'; runner-up David Almond 'Slog's Dad'.

2006 James Lasdun - 'An Anxious Man'; runner-up Michel Faber - 'The Safehouse'.

2016's panel consists of Chair of the Panel, BBC R4's JENNI MURRAY, Booker prize winner PAT BARKER, writer KEI MILLER, Literature & Spoken Word Programmer at the Southbank Centre - TED HODGKINSON and DI SPEIRS, Books Editor at BBC Radio. The shortlist will be announced on BBC Radio 4's Front Row at 7.15pm on Thursday 15 September 2016.

To mark the tenth year of the Award, the BBC and Book Trust launched Student Choice, in which nearly 500 16-18 year old students from 20 schools around the UK cast their own votes on the shortlist.

The shortlisted stories will run on BBC Radio 4 from Monday 19 to Friday 23 September from 3.30pm to 4pm. The announcement of the BBC National Short Story Award 2016 with BookTrust winner and runner-up and the Young Writers' Award winner will be broadcast live from the Award ceremony on BBC Radio 4's Front Row from 7.15pm on Tuesday 4 October 2016.

Keep an eye on our website for news on the announcement of the shortlist and subsequent winner of this year's award.

The BBC National Short Story Award 2010

ed. James Naughtie

This year's shortlist brings together a high calibre group of new and established authors exploring human relationships at their most dysfunctional and yet sustaining.

The BBC International Short Story Award 2012

ed. Clive Anderson

In honour of the 2012 Olympics, this edition opened its doors to international short story submissions from all over the world, thus becoming the first BBC International Short Story Award.

The BBC National Short Story Award 2011

ed. Sue MacGregor

The 2011 edition of the celebrated BBC National Short Story Award, featuring the authors D.W. Wilson, Jon McGregor, M.J. Hyland and more.

The BBC National Short Story Award 2013

ed. Mariella Frostrup

The stories shortlisted for the BBC National Short Story Award 2013 all use brevity with striking results.

The BBC National Short Story Award 2014

ed. Alan Yentob

The five shortlisted stories in the UK's most prestiguous award for short fiction - now in its ninth year.

The BBC National Short Story Award 2015

ed. Allan Little

The BBC National Short Story Award with BookTrust celebrates its tenth year with a stellar line-up of authors.

The BBC National Short Story Award 2016

ed. Jenni Murray

Now in its eleventh year, this highly anticipated collection celebrates the very best in contemporary British fiction with an all-female shortlist of renowned authors, who explore the short story form in spectacular fashion.