The BBC National Short Story Award 2019

Edited by Nikki Bedi


Back for the fourteenth year, the BBC National Short Story Award with Cambridge University aims to celebrate and promote the best in contemporary short fiction.

This year the judging panel is chaired by television and radio broadcaster Nikki Bedi, who has selected the shortlist alongside novelist and writer of narrative non-fiction, Richard Beard; short story writer and novelist Daisy Johnson; screenwriter, novelist and 2017 BBC National Short Story Award winner, Cynan Jones; and returning judge, Di Speirs, Books Editor at BBC Radio.

Shortlist to be announced on 6th September 2019 with readings and interviews broadcast on BBC Radio 4 the following week.

The winner of the £15,000 prize will be announced live on BBC Radio 4’s Front Row on 1st October 2019.

Buy Hard Copy

Currently unavailable

Book Details

6 Sep 2019