BBC National Short Story Award WINNER announced!

And the winner is..... LIONEL SHRIVER for 'Kilifi Creek'
With the runner up prize going to ZADIE SMITH for 'Miss Adele Amidst the Corsets'

Comma are delighted to be publishing the official anthology for the BBC National Short Story Award again this year, for the fifth time runnng. The hotly anticipated short list was announced at 7.15pm on Radio 4's Front Row programme tonight revealing a second all-female shortlist consisting of Tessa Hadley, Francesca Rhydderch, Lionel Shriver, Zadie Smith and Rose Tremain. 


Radio 4 listeners can enjoy the five stories as they are read by a host of famous voices from Monday 22nd September, following an interview with the author the previous day (beginning Friday 19th September). Readers include Carey Mulligan and Rebecca Hall. See the full schedule here.