M.J. Hyland

M.J. Hyland ’s first novel, How the Light Gets In (2003), was shortlisted for the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize. Her second, Carry Me Down (2006), won the Hawthornden and Encore Prizes and was shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize. Her third novel, This is How (2009), was longlisted for the Orange Prize and the International IMPAC Prize. Her short fiction has been published in Zoetrope: All Story, BlackBook Magazine (USA), Best Australian Short Stories and elsewhere. Her non-fiction regularly features in publications such as London Review of Books, Irish Independent and the Financial Times. She worked for seven years as a commercial lawyer, and a lecturer in criminal law, before her first novel was published. She has also worked as an assistant director in film and television, and as a cadet journalist. She is currently a lecturer in creative writing in the Centre for New Writing, at the University of Manchester.

Anthologies featuring M.J. Hyland

The BBC National Short Story Award 2011

The 2011 edition of the celebrated BBC National Short Story Award, featuring the authors D.W. Wilson, Jon McGregor, M.J. Hyland and more.

The BBC International Short Story Award 2012

In honour of the 2012 Olympics, this edition opened its doors to international short story submissions from all over the world, thus becoming the first BBC International Short Story Award.

Spindles: Stories from the Science of Sleep

Short stories informed by explorations of the science of sleep