Michael Symmonds Roberts

Michael Symmons Roberts is the author of four collections of poetry, Soft Keys, Raising Sparks, Burning Babylon and Corpus (Cape) – which won the 2004 Whitbread Poetry Award and was shortlisted for the TS Eliot , Forward and Griffin International Prizes. He is also an award winning documentary producer for the BBC and his first novel Patrick’s Alphabet was published by Cape in 2007.

Anthologies featuring Michael Symmonds Roberts


Real or surreal, despairing or defiant, these stories prove that far from being a genre of offcuts and unfinished ideas, the short story, if only we give it a moment, is very much alive and well.