Waterstones TCR Presents: A Celebration of the BBC National Short Story Award 2019

9 Oct 2019 - 6.30PM

Comma Press and Waterstones Tottenham Court Road are delighted to be hosting three of the shortlisted writers who will be included in this year's BBC National Short Story Award anthology.

Back for the fourteenth year, the BBC National Short Story Award with Cambridge University is 
one of the most prestigious literary prizes for a single short story in the UK, and aims to celebrate and promote the best in contemporary short fiction.
This year the judging panel is chaired by television and radio broadcaster Nikki Bedi, selecting the shortlist alongside novelist and writer of narrative non-fiction, Richard Beard; short story writer and novelist Daisy Johnson; screenwriter, novelist and 2017 BBC National Short Story Award winner, Cynan Jones; and returning judge, Di Speirs, Books Editor at BBC Radio.
Previous alumni of the award include include Zadie Smith, Hilary Mantel, Jon McGregor, Lionel Shriver and Ingrid Persaud. This year's winner will be announced on 1st October live on BBC Radio 4. 
Chaired by Alice Slater, co-host of What Page Are You On and currently editing a short story anthology for 3 of Cups Press.
Wednesday 9th October
18:30 start
£7 General Admission / £12 Book + Ticket - BUY HERE