BBC Short Story Award Opens for Entries

The BBC Short Story Award is now open for entries. 

Journalist Reeta Chakrabarti will chair this year’s BBC National Short Story Awards (NSSA), alongside Booker Prize winner Roddy Doyle, award-winning author and lecturer Okechukwu Nzelu, BBC Radio books editor Di Speirs and bestselling novelist Jessie Burton.

The BBC NSSA – which opens for submissions on 12th January – is among one of the most prestigious awards for a single short story. Previous alumni include Zadie Smith, Hilary Mantel and Jon McGregor among others. 

This year’s winner will receive £15,000 while four shortlisted authors will win £600 each. The stories are broadcast on Radio 4 and available to listen to on BBC Sounds. They will also be published in an anthology by Comma Press. The 2022 winner of the BBC National Short Story Award was Saba Sams for “Blue 4Eva”, a story about sexual identity, agency, power and class, taken from her debut collection, Send Nudes (Bloomsbury).

The award is held in partnership with Cambridge University for the third year running.

Dr Bonnie Lander Johnson, fellow and lecturer at Cambridge University, said: “The University of Cambridge is delighted to support the BBC Short Story Awards in celebrating exceptional work from the very best storytellers of today and the young writers of the future from around the UK. In our rapidly changing world, the short story form offers a unique opportunity to reflect and explore. We encourage everyone to send in their stories. Good luck!”

The deadline for the BBC National Short Story Award with Cambridge University is 9 a.m. (GMT) Monday, 13th March 2023.

Read the full article in the Bookseller here