Submissions open for the BBC National Short Story Award 2022!

The BBC National Short Story Award with Cambridge University (NSSA) and BBC Young Writers’ Award with Cambridge University (YWA) open for submissions today (Thursday 13th January) at 9am.


Award-winning novelist, journalist and broadcaster Elizabeth Day is Chair of the judging panel for the NSSA, an award that has enriched both the careers of writers and the wider literary landscape since its launch seventeen years ago. Bestselling author Day has written five novels and two non-fiction books, is the host of chart-topping podcast How to Fail, and presents Radio 4’s flagship books programme, Open Book.


The BBC National Short Story Award is one of the most prestigious for a single short story, with the winning author receiving £15,000, and four further shortlisted authors £600 each. The stories are broadcast on Radio 4 and published in an anthology by Comma Press.


The 2021 winner of the NSSA was Lucy Caldwell for ‘All the People Were Mean and Bad’, the intimate story of a woman navigating a long-haul transatlantic flight alone with her 21-month-old daughter after a family loss. It was third time lucky for Caldwell, following two previous nominations. Previous alumni of the award include Sarah Hall, Zadie Smith, Hilary Mantel, Jon McGregor, Ingrid Persaud, Cynan Jones and Jo Lloyd.


The deadline for receipt of entries for the NSSA is 9am (GMT) Monday 21st March 2022. The deadline for receipt of entries for the YWA is 9am (GMT) Monday 28th March 2022. 


The shortlist for the NSSA will be announced on Radio 4’s Front Row at 7.15pm on Thursday 15th September 2022. The shortlist for the YWA will be announced on Radio 1’s Life Hacks from 4pm on Sunday 18th September 2022.


The announcement of the winners of the two awards will be broadcasted live from the award ceremony at BBC Broadcasting House on Radio 4’s Front Row from 7.15pm on Tuesday 4th October 2022.

Details on how to enter the BBC NSSA 2022 here.