Gerard Woodward

Gerard Woodward is a novelist, poet and short story writer, best known for his trilogy of novels concerning the troubled Jones family, August (shortlisted for the Whitbread Book Award), I’ll Go to Bed at Noon (shortlisted for the 2004 Man-Booker Prize), and A Curious Earth (2008). He is the author of six collections of poetry and two collections of short fiction, The Caravan Thieves (2007) and Legoland (2016). His latest publication is the novel The Paper Lovers.

Anthologies featuring Gerard Woodward


Real or surreal, despairing or defiant, these stories prove that far from being a genre of offcuts and unfinished ideas, the short story, if only we give it a moment, is very much alive and well.

Hyphen: an anthology of short stories by poets

Established and award winning poets from around Britian and the UK have been asked to 'interlope' into the unknown territory of the short - most of them for the first time and each bringing with them a new, poetic perspective as well as an intuitive feel for the snapshot's hidden narratives.

Manchester Stories 3

Launched March 11, 2002, on the 25th Floor of the CIS Building, Manchester, in conjunction with Co-Op Insurance Services.

The New Abject

A sequel to Comma‘s award-winning horror anthology The New Uncanny. Featuring specially commissioned stories inspired by Julia Kristeva’s theory of the abject.

The New Uncanny

14 leading authors have here been challenged to write fresh fictional interpretations of what the uncanny might mean in the 21st century, to update Freud’s famous checklist of what gives us the creeps, and to give the hulking canon of uncanny fiction a shot in the arm, a shock to the neck-bolts...