Martyn Bedford

Martyn Bedford is the author of five novels for adults: Acts of Revision, which won the Yorkshire Post Best First Work Award, Exit, Orange & Red, The Houdini Girl, Black Cat, and The Island of Lost Souls. He is also the author of three novels for young adults: Flip (shortlisted for the Costa Children’s Book Award, and winner of four awards including the Sheffield Children’s Book Award and Calderdale Book of the Year), Never Ending, and Twenty Questions for Gloria, winner of the 2017 Coventry Inspiration Book Award. He has been translated into fifteen languages.

Publications by Martyn Bedford

Letters Home

The first collection of short stories from award-winning thriller writer and YA author Martyn Bedford.

Anthologies featuring Martyn Bedford

Leeds Stories 1

This is the first in a series of specially commissioned, original short stories celebrating the strength and richness of the city's literary alumni.


Short stories from an A-Life Future, inspired by the vway we interact with technology, the roles we adopt in an increasingly ‘intelligent’ environment, and how we interface with each other.

Protest: Stories of Resistance

The paperback edition of our bestselling anthology of British protest inspired short stories.

M.O.: Crimes of Practice

These stories demonstrate that, even with the most despicable of crimes, there’s methodology in the madness.

Protest: Stories of Resistance

This book asks 20 authors and 20 historians to bring crucial moments of British protest to life.

The Book of Leeds

Bringing together fiction from some of the city's most celebrated writers, The Book of Leeds traces the unique contours that fifty years of social and economic change can impress on a city.

Spindles: Stories from the Science of Sleep

Short stories informed by explorations of the science of sleep