The BBC National Short Story Award 2020

Edited by Jonathan Freedland


Available to pre-order today.

Now celebrating its fifteenth year, the BBC National Short Story Award is one of the most prestigious for a single short story, with the winning writer receiving £15,000, and the four further shortlisted authors £600 each.

The BBC National Short Story Award with Cambridge University was established to raise the profile of the short form and the writers shortlisted for this year’s award join distinguished alumni such as Zadie Smith, Lionel Shriver, Rose Tremain, William Trevor, Sarah Hall and Mark Haddon. As well as rewarding the most renowned short story writers, the Award has raised the profile of new writers including Ingrid Persaud, K J Orr, Julian Gough, Cynan Jones and Clare Wigfall.

The shortlist will be announced on the 11th September 2020, with the winner to be announced live on BBC Radio 4 Front Row in October.

Introduced by Jonathan Freedland.



Read 2020 judge Chris Power's article on the best stories to read right now, with input from previous BBC NSSA winners and shortlistees, at The Guardian.

Buy Hard Copy

Retail Price £7.99

Online Price £7.00

Book Details

11 Sep 2020